Posted by: stgeorgesfc | October 21, 2010

Nibdew il-league b’rebha fuq St. Andrew’s

BRMLA_VS Hin: 2.30 pm 

Data: 23 ta Ottubru

Post: V. Tedesco (Hamrun)

Skor: 1 – 0

The Division One championship got underway yesterday at the Tedesco Stadium with St George’s chalking up the first victory in a drab match against St Andrew’s decided by a Gary Inguanez goal. 

St George’s saw more of the ball but St Andrew’s deserved a point as they were the better-organised team, particularly at the back.

At the start, both teams seemed interested not to concede a goal rather than venturing forward in search of an opener.

Chances, in fact, were few and far in between. St Andrew’s looked more effective when going forward though.

From one of their rare counter-attacks St Andrews nearly took the lead.

This came on 35 minutes when Vella Petroni headed into the path of Jack Pallen whose effort finished just over the bar. Just before half-time, Englishman Pallen tried to lob the ball over Thomas Galea but the St George’s keeper did well to deny St Andrew’s from a goal.


Gary Inguanez jiskorja ghal St. George's

Gary Inguanez jiskorja ghal St. George's


St George’s scored the goal that mattered on 48 minutes.

Their opponents failed to clear the ball from their own box with Inguanez first to pounce on a loose ball and chip it home past keeper Ibrahim.

St Andrew’s were unlucky not to equalise two minutes later when Galea failed to clear the ball but Vella Petroni’s header went wide.

St Andrew’s continued to pile up the pressure and came close eight minutes from time when a Valenzia delivery found Pallen on the right spot but his shot was stopped by Galea.

In a late counter-attack, St George’s substitute Josef Dalli charged forward only to be stopped by defender Jonathan Bugeja. The tackle looked legitimate to those at the stadium but the referee thought otherwise and red-carded the St Andrew’s player.

St Andrew’s: D. Ibrahim, J. Bugeja, R. Hartvig, M. Borg, N. Chetcuti (K. Coleiro), P. Briscoe White (M. Calleja), J. Briscoe White, N. Vella Petroni (E. Grima), M. Valenzia, W. Camilleri, J. Pallen.

St George’s: T. Galea, A. Bonello, E. Sevasta, N. Caruana, G. Inguanez (D. Zahra), E. Amaira (J. Dalli), B. Fenech, D. Zarb (T. Farrugia), G. Bonello, C. Grech, L. Stivala.

Referee: Sammy Attard.

Man of the match: Dylan Zarb (St George’s).





  2. Nawgura hafna lit-team tas-St George’s. Nispera li dan l-istagun ikun wiehed ta’ pjacir ghalina s-supporters.

  3. Prosit Blues…ejja ha nirbhu l-lig u nitilaw premier fejn suppost qeghdin ….ejja blues ha tkunu kburin bikkhom infuskom u taghmlu lil bormla kburija ukoll….ejja blueeessss !!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: